The first-ever MotoE race at Mugello turned out to be one of the most spectacular encounters in the history of the series. With plenty of lead changes and overtaking manoeuvres, the race was eventually won by pole sitter Dominique Aegerter (Dynavolt IntactGP). It was all but an easy win for the current world cup leader.

The #77 did not get a good start out of the gate and was fourth behind the then-leader Kevin Zannoni (Ongetta Sic58 Squadracorse), Matteo Ferrari (Felo Gresini MotoE) and Niccolò Canepa (WithU GRT RNF MotoE). He had to make his way back to the lead on multiple occasions, the last of which saw him going all the way from fifth place to first courtesy of a brave out-braking manoeuvre down the main straight and into turn one – as the riders entered the final lap.

With clear track ahead, he managed to pull away just a little by setting the fastest lap time of the race (and breaking the 1’59secs barrier), which prevented Ferrari to use the slipstream and pip his rival before the chequered flag.

But the podium battle was far from over, as Andrea Mantovani (WithU GRT RNF MotoE) exited the last corner at incredible speed and lined up alongside Eric Granado (LCR E-Team) before edging him at the finish line by a mere 0.007secs. However, the Italian rider – who is replacing the currently unfit Bradley Smith – was later disqualified due to incorrect tyre pressure on his Ego Corsa – meaning Granado and every other rider behind him moved up one place in the race classification.

The Brazilian rider, had quite a turbulent race: he witnessed the front mudguard of his Ego Corsa shattering into pieces after hitting the back of the Canepa’s Energica motorcycle #7 – a setback that did not prevent the rider from taking a temporary lead during the same lap.

Canepa, on the other hand, was only sixth at the line behind a resurgent Mattia Casadei (Pons Racing 40) and a Marc Alcoba (OpenBank Aspar Team) on great form. Only 1.067secs today’s top six at the finish line.