The second and final official test ahead of the 2022 FIM Enel MotoE World Cup, powered by Energica, has drawn to a close at the Circuito de Jerez today, with a nine-lap race simulation wrapping up the on-track action for riders and teams partaking in the series.

Previous title contender Dominique Aegerter (Dynavolt IntactGP) was the first competitor to cross the finish line, ahead of returning MotoE star Hector Garzó (Tech 3 E-Racing) and Mattia Casadei, the new recruit of team Pons Racing 40.  

The top three riders took turns in the lead in the first four laps, with Aegerter eventually consolidating first place and stretching out a small margin over his rivals towards the end of the encounter. But the fastest lap of the race was set by Garzó in 1’48.458seconds, a lap-time that was a bare 0.022secs quicker than the one logged by the Swiss rider.

Two potential protagonists were taken by surprise by a longer-than-usual starting time and had to let the rest of the group go in the first corners, before starting to get up to speed themselves. Matteo Ferrari (Gresini Racing MotoE) and Eric Granado (LCR E-Team) circulated together, with the latter crashing unhurt at turn one at the start of the third-last lap.

Two-time World Cup Champion Jordi Torres (Pons Racing 40) and former race winner Miguel Pons (LCR E-Team) had to make their way back to the pits due to technical issues. Meanwhile, both standard bearers of team Octo Pramac MotoE, Xavi Forés and Kevin Manfredi, missed out on the last day of action as they had to travel to France to compete in the 24h of Le Mans. WithU GRT RNF MotoE’s Niccolò Canepa unfortunately had to skip the whole test for the same reason.

This three-day test was affected by poor weather conditions which significantly limited the track-time available to the riders and their chances better to familiarise themselves with the updated Ego Corsa machines.

MotoE will be back in action on the 29th of April, for the opening round of the season at Jerez – the first of seven events for the 2022 edition of the series. Unlike previous years, each round will feature two individual races.