Energica and the FIM Enel MotoE World Cup are ready to return to action at the Misano World Circuit for the first of two crucial back-to-back events for the title aspirations of riders and teams involved in the series. With 21 points separating the top six and 75 up for grabs across two weekends of racing, there is a lot of excitement and anticipation after the spectacular season debut in Jerez back in July.

Heading the field entering round three is series ‘rookie’ Dominique Aegerter (Dynavolt IntactGP), a rider with renowned scintillating talent who managed not only to get up to speed quickly on his Energica Ego Corsa #77, but also made the most of pre-season testing to bridge the experience gap in the series. Now the Swiss rider is ready to defend his lead on a track he knows well, albeit not aboard a MotoE machine.

Aegerter’s closest rival in the series is Jordi Torres (Pons Racing 40), who sits in second place, 11 points in arrears. He also made his MotoE debut in the series in Jerez, and was able to score his first podium finish in the second race by capitalising on a racing incident involving Eric Granado (Avintia Esponsorama Racing) and Matteo Ferrari (Team Trentino Gresini MotoE) and Mattia Casadei (Ongetta Sic58 Squadracorse) when the last-mentioned rider was forced to run wide after the other two had a coming together and crashed out of the encounter.

After dominating the first race in Southern Spain, Granado is now 13 points behind the leader in third and one ahead of Casadei, while the reigning World Cup champion Ferrari is sixth with 20 points, behind the other rookie sensation, Lukas Tulovic (Tech 3 E-Racing).

Many other riders are also expected to be in contention after tricky starts to their campaigns, and among them is Niki Tuuli (Avant Ajo Motorsport), who has recovered from a hand injury suffered in Jerez and who is ready to try and return to the type of form he was able to show in the first half of the 2019 season.

The on-track action for the FIM Enel MotoE World Cup at Misano will get underway tomorrow morning at 11:50 local time (GMT +2), with the third race of the year to begin on Sunday at 10:05.