Energica and the FIM Enel MotoE World Cup are back in action this weekend after a seemingly endless, eight-week summer break comes to a close as riders and teams arrive at the Red Bull Ring for the penultimate event of 2021. The Austrian venue has returned to the calendar after a one-year absence due to the ongoing global pandemic, for a round that will be crucial for the title hopes of the main title contenders – and the ones hoping to enter the battle for the ultimate prize aboard their Energica Ego Corsa machines ahead of the final two races at Misano in September.

Leading the way after four encounters is Alessandro Zaccone (OCTO Pramac MotoE), by far the most consistent rider in the MotoE field – and consistency once again is proving to be the key for success in the series. The 22-year-old Italian has a seven-point margin over reigning world cup champion Jordi Torres (Pons Racing 40) with one win, two thirds and one fourth place (at Montmeló).

Speaking of consistency, Torres has followed a similar path so far, although he is yet to step atop the podium this year. Eric Granado (One Energy Racing) and Dominique Aegerter (Dynavolt IntactGP) are both 17 points adrift in third and fourth, the two riders having to face disappointment along the way. Unlike the Brazilian opponent, Aegerter needs to bounce back after crashing out at Assen in late June, while Granado could enjoy a dominant win on Dutch turf.

The #AustrianGP is going to be even more important for Mattia Casadei (Ongetta Sic58 Squadracorse), Miquel Pons (LCR E-Team) and Matteo Ferrari (Indonesian E-Racing Gresini MotoE), who absolutely need to make some ground to the top as they currently are 27, 28 and 30 points in arrears, respectively. Casadei and Ferrari are two of only four riders who raced here in 2019 in the MotoE Class, the other two being Maria Herrera (OpenBank Aspar Team) and the aforementioned Granado.

MotoE proceedings will begin this Friday at 11:50 local time (GMT +2), with the race set to get underway on Sunday at 15:30.

MotoE action will get underway this Friday at 11:50 for Free Practice 1, with the E-Pole scheduled for Saturday at 16:10 and the race on Sunday at 15:30 local time (GMT +2).