The opening race of the 2022 FIM Enel MotoE World Cup – powered by Energica – could not have been any better, with an incredible eight-lap encounter at Jerez, full of excitement from start to finish. LCR E-Team’s Eric Granado emerged as the rider to mount the top step of the podium, but it was all but an easy race win for the talented Brazilian rider, who was joined on the rostrum by Dominique Aegerter (Dynavolt IntactGP) and Matteo Ferrari (Felo Gresini MotoE).

2019 MotoE World Cup Champion Ferrari was bemused as he made his way back to the pits after he had crossed the line in fourth place, but a long-lap time penalty given to pole sitter Miquél Pons – the other half of the LCR E-Team’s line-up – resulted in the Italian moving up one place in the finishing order and him being waved into parc ferme for 3rd.

The penalty was given to Pons after the coming together he had with Mattia Casadei (Pons Racing 40) at the final corner on lap six. Granado made a successful overtaking manoeuvre on Casadei for the lead, and Pons tried to take advantage of the opening. As Casadei headed towards the line, the two riders collided, with the Italian’s hopes for victory being extinguished as he went down. He was able to re-mount and finish the race, albeit outside the top 15.

That incident also involved Hector Garzo (Tech 3 E-Racing), who was swapping positions with Casadei in the first half of the race. The fast Spaniard successfully managed to avoid the stricken Ego Corsa #27 but that cost him precious time and the opportunity to battle for honours – he ultimately finished fourth.

But the highlight of the race belongs to Aegerter, who put together an impressive overtake on Pons. At first it looked like the reigning World Supersport Champion was trying to attempt an outside pass on his rival, but it was a precisely calculated manoeuvre to line himself up to build momentum and get on the inside as the two approached the following turn.

Reigning World Cup Champion Jordi Torres (Pons Racing 40) finished in fifth place, and the top ten was completed by Hikari Okubo (Avant Ajo MotoE), Alex Escrig (Tech 3 E-Racing), Miquél Pons, Marc Alcoba (OpenBank Aspar MotoE) and one-off returning rider Lukas Tulovic (WithU GRT RNF MotoE). Both Escrig and Alcoba put together impressive performances in their maiden MotoE race.

The second and final encounter of the weekend will get underway tomorrow at 15:30 local time (GMT +2).